Packing Up Is Hard To Do

You’re probably thinking at this point that perhaps Andrew is some secret military operative. We’re moving again; by now we’re pros. Although we went through a massive downsize moving across the pond, it’s amazing at the crap you can accumulate. European living has helped us keep things to a minimum, but it’s still time to purge.

imagesClosets. Oh sweet mother, cleaning out the closet. Here’s some of my rules I’m living by:

1. Ditch anything that’s 2 years or older. It should be one year, but let’s be realistic. Fabrics fade and stretch out. Be okay with parting with items. I have given my old clothes to friends or charity and I’m happy to see these items make new friends and get a good home.
2. Dudes Rule. Seriously, Roo is amazefest at keeping things tidy. A bit “Sleeping With the Enemy” now that I think about it. He has no problem dumping old things he doesn’t wear frequently, because it makes room for new duds. I like this rule.
3. Go through things a few times. I have been going through wardrobes once a week for the past three weeks. I started putting things in order of things I wear a lot, a little, and never. The never is a column that’s hard to admit. Each week I get a better perspective of things I want to keep. It makes the piles of clothes easier to digest and not feel overwhelmed that you’re getting rid of clothes. I was holding on to Forever 21 things like they were Chanel.

Ask yourself these questions: Do I love it? Is it flattering? Is this the style I want to project? If it’s a “yes” to all three, then it’s a keeper.

A Beautiful Mess has some amazefest tips as well – Remember, it’s taken you years to accumulate this stuff, and you’ll need time to let it all go.

One comment


Leave a Reply

