One Month Anniversary

Time please slow down. I remember how December dragged on and now I can’t get this roller coaster to stop.

IMG_1532

Age: 1 month
Height: 23 inches
Weight: 8.5 (ish)

Ryder1month

Milestones: Ryder is working that neck; he’s got amazing control. He’s tracking loads better now with his beautiful eyes. He’ll turn towards our voices and this past week he really got to meet Indy, no longer a blurry white monster running around him.
Best Moment: Waking up with the man on Christmas morning or ringing in 2013 – it’s a tie.
Worst Moment: I don’t think you really have total crap moments, but the day he managed to find 4 new ways to pee on me was a fun one.
Eating: I gave birth to a baby hippo. Seriously. Andrew says, “Always on the boob.” purdy much. (trust me, a huge shocker.)
Notables: Ryder is our joy. My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song. He’s a cool customer that fortunately rarely cries. We are starting to sort a routine and have been hanging around town with some other “mums.” His first movie at the cinema was “The Gambit” (total gar-b-a-g-e). Ryder was my date to the mums movie group. Rye’s party trick, passing out the second you turn on the hair dryer or vacuum.

IMG_1362

IMG_1324

Rye1month

RyeJustBorn

IMG_1201

IMG_0005

IMG_0204

Biggest surprise of parenthood: how suddenly you are happily going about on no less sleep, changing nappies all day, and starting a bedtime routine at 9:30. And everyone has a baby voice; Andrew’s is priceless.

I had no idea how dependent this little man would be on me.all.day.

And since Andrew rarely reads this…we are already in talks about numero dos. He’s the coolest thing that has ever happened to us and I get a huge smile thinking about expanding our brood. Pump the brakes, not anytime soon; this isn’t a Jessica Simpson thing.

Since this post has gone the mom-blog route, I’ll leave you with my Mommy Must Haves.

Mommy Musts!
Screw the wipe warmers, baby shoes, etc. Babies need a lot of crap, but there are some serious essentials.

Aden + Anais Blankets
AKA: Best things ever
Loves: They are lightweight but can be warm. Easy to wrap, swaddle, and cuddle. Also super easy to wash. We have a dozen of these things.

Gumpdrop Newborn Soother
AKA: Uh-oh (where is it? Did you drop it?!)
Loves: Has a finger dent in the middle to calmly get the babe started and then you can release. *Only available in the US.

Moby Wrap
AKA: Parachute cord.
Loves: If there is one thing you will let me influence you on, this is it! THE one item I couldn’t live without. I give this thing two thumbs up, or 5 stars, or tons of props. Basically, I can breastfeed and DO STUFF WITH TWO HANDS. Amazebreast. Amazefest. This was a lifesaver. I like our Ergo carrier, but this wrap lets Ryder do stuff with me and is super comfy.

Fisher Price My Little Snugabunny Cradle ‘n Swing
AKA: Babysitter.
Loves: Anything that lets me do something on my own for 5 minutes gets my full support. *Only available in the US. Another reason to love eBay.

9 comments

  1. Ever so happy for you both & your handsome little one! Love the new mommy updates – makes me excited/impatient to begin the adventure ourselves… But a bit more bake time is still needed of course πŸ™‚

  2. As I sit here at work in tears cause I miss my little man so much. Can’t believe how much he has grown in a month. LOVE LOVE LOVE the picture of Andy and Ryder. Am I allowed to come back to the UK yet?

  3. I know you weren’t wanting this to turn into a mommy blog but because our babies are so close in age, I love reading about your adventures into parenthood. It is such an amazing adventure that is going by too quickly. We are also already thinking about number two!


Leave a Reply

