An Open Letter To My Family: It’s Thanksgiving in America, and Thursday in England.

Hiya’ll,

It’s absolutely perfect weather today in Shropshire for Thanksgiving. Since this country will not give me a proper Thanksgiving, I’m bringing one here. I popped up out of bed this morning like a spring chicken and ran my own Gobble Jog. Team Renegade. I even wished someone I bumped into whilst running a Happy Thanksgiving. That should leave them confused for most of the morning. I’m getting set to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving parade and we even get the Lions game live!

How long has Nanny been up with the turkey? Did you name the turkey this year? Law knows she’s been cooking for a week. I’d give anything for that woman’s baking right now, mmm pies. However, you know it’s going to be hard topping last year’s BEST THANKSGIVING EVER. Andrew’s PPT of recipes, sticking his hand up the wrong end of the turkey, and conventional naming of the turkey. Oh, Norman.

It’s my first Thanksgiving not being with you crazies and I knew this holiday would be hard. Who am I kidding, I’ve been crying off and on for a few days. It’s when I see stupid holiday commercials, like these ones for mince pies. I don’t even know what those are, but the families look so happy eating those little pies. Niagara Falls, Frankie Jr. You know I would give anything to be in the metropolis of Jasper right now.

I have much to be thankful for. Thankful for Mikey becoming an honest man, mom for owning running, dad for doing the impossible. And Nanny for reading to me when I’m on the phone, for hours. My heart is full.

I simply say thank you, to my beautiful family, for all that I have. I am thankful you understand that Andrew and I had to make our own journey together overseas and supporting our dream, and being jealous of our travels (mwahaha).

Happy Thanksgiving. Please know this means we’ll have to double-up on the celebrations at Christmas. Love and miss you turkeys.

xx

4 comments

  1. I made it to 415 without crying. I kept myself busy by running and putting up Nanny’s Christmas.. Then I read this. My first Thanksgiving without you and it is not easy. Love you and Andy and are counting the days until Christmas.. Have a fun Thanksgiving Saturday

  2. Hey Nikki, I talked to Aunt Jewell a few minutes ago and just showed Lynda your blog. We had a great day with your Aunt Ruby, visiting Betty and Mildred, etc 🙂 Everyone says Hi. We’re all thinking of you and Andrew over there and hope we get to see you at Christmas and hear all about life in jolly old England!

  3. beautiful Thanksgiving post! It’s a funny feeling to be away from home – especially in a country that doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving. I remember when we lived in Belize, we celebrated Thanksgiving with a bunch of Americans who also lived on the island. It was bizarre, but a wonderful memory!

  4. I almost teared up! Law, you must have a great clan to go home to. 🙂 This makes me want to celebrate T-day with you guys.

    Christmas countdown is on!


Leave a Reply

