Grazie, Rome

Where do I even begin. Rome was spectacular. Nothing I write will do the trip or the city justice. It is truly something you have to experience for yourself. The sheer size of the buildings in Rome leave you in awe. There is a part of the city that feels vaguely familiar because you have seen these historic images throughout your life.

When looking at Ancient Rome, things built before Christ, it doesn’t even register that you are looking at something that old that stands for such opulence and power. Andrew is a history buff and it was amazing walking around places you have only read about for years.

The Vatican: you could spend days in here without seeing it all. We took a guided four-hour tour, worth every penny. Otherwise you would stroll right by history. I was overwhelmed by the size and meticulous details of all the rooms. Priceless. Absolutely invaluable. We were bigger fans of Raphael’s works than Michelangelo. Doesn’t that sound awful? The Sistine Chapel was uniquely beautiful. Standing under the famous scene of God touching Adam you look up and know you have seen that image a million times but can’t believe you are standing directly under it. It was St Peter’s Basilica that blew us away. The Vatican is all about The Sistine Chapel and when we walked into St Peter’s my heart stopped. How could I have not known a great deal about the gargantuan, elaborate, opulent church? Saint Peter’s Basilica has the largest interior of any Christian church in the world. And there we stood. More money that God, I get it now.

Ancient Rome: I remember someone telling me that we’d be disappointed because the Colosseum was smaller than you imagine. Um, compared to St Peter’s maybe. It gave me chills. It was huge and still in relatively good shape. You try to imagine what the sounds would have been like in the amphitheater. Walking through the nearby Roman ruins you see where Ceaser lived. The marble and stone is gorgeous.

Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and the Pantheon were equally as impressive. OK, the steps ranked low on our list. Throwing a coin in the fountain was awesome, and it was crawling with tourists. The Pantheon is historic in its own right. 2,000 + years later, the Pantheon’s dome is still the world’s largest unreinforced concrete dome. Brilliant builders. All of these monuments, buildings, churches, you can’t help but compare to things you’ve seen in the states. I quickly learned there is a distinct reason why the White House is indeed a “house.”

I adore the Italian language. Romantic and beautiful. Although, having to learn Brit-Speak then Italian I fumbled a lot with my words. I was more apt to say “gracias.”

The food was lovely. Some of the best dishes Andrew and I have ever eaten, and he loves to eat. The pizza and pasta is fresh and covered with the perfect amount of olive oil. Simple but divine. You know I love me some coffee, Italy is it. There is a reason you don’t see a Starbucks in Italy. Respect. Don’t think I have forgotten to talk about the wine. Vino della casa is the house wine, always good and cheap. Tuscan is still my fave.

We stayed off the beaten track in Trastevere. Since we don’t like chain restaurants and uber touristy areas, this place was perfect. Our bed and breakfast hotel was quiet and charming.

I’ll leave with you with a short list:

  1. The city smells like candles at night.
  2. Paintings are like your first love. You either love them, or you don’t.
  3. Rome is one industrious little nation. (A’s words, not mine.)
  4. You will get hit by a car or scooter. People in the city can’t drive for crap.
  5. When ordering wine: Vino Della Casa.
  6. You can see Rome in 3 days.
  7. Sunday is the best time to walk around the city.
  8. November was a bit cool, but nice during the day. I can’t imagine going in the summer. Stinky.

I guess I was able to find a “few” words to describe Rome. I am beyond blessed to have the experience to travel. Already looking forward to more European vacations.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: 2011 Rewind « Across the Pond


Leave a Reply

