An Open Letter

You kids have seen the beauty and pure awesomeness of our surroundings in the UK. It has truly been a whirlwind and here we are four weeks from the day we arrived. I rarely divulge in anything ultra-personal but it is probably time now to share a bit more of the scoop on what else has really been going on since we arrived.

Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.
– Cesare Pavese

– I miss my stuff. From kitchen cookware, pillows, alarm clocks and shoes, I am coming towards the end of this vacation packing. If we don’t get our belongings soon I will be the only moron around here wearing flip flops in October. *Our container has arrived and it is hanging out in Liverpool (help! I need somebody) and once we have a permanent address our “home” can be delivered.

– Bringing me to my second point, finding a place to live. If you know us, you know Indy Dr Indiana Jones is never far behind. We are counting the days until we can bring him over, but it seems that the UK is not so friendly with pets in apartments/town houses. I now describe Indy as a large house-cat with special needs to prospective letting agents. Hey, desperate times. We have honestly struggled to find an ideal place to live and it has gotten downright intense. There was a place that we thought we had, application and all, but it was yanked out from under us which put us on the hunt again. *I am happy to report that there is a silver lining to the situation but I refuse to count that chicken just yet.

– Phone home. Or I guess phone anyone for that matter. I have only accidentally tried calling my mom once. I was writing an email and it was taking forever so I went to try and call her. Old habits die hard. It’s tough trying to keep tabs on everyone and the time change is making it more difficult than I once thought to talk with friend back home. Sometimes you want to talk to your friends about the good, or the bad, and not having them in shouting distance kind of sucks.

I am fully confident that everything will continue to settle down. What’s life without a few hiccups every now and then? I am also blessed to have the most patient husband. He’s putting up with a lot, including me on top of everything else. Everyone pray for him, bahaha.

If you take away anything from this rant, please know that everything does in fact happen for a reason. We are doing great but I wanted to let everyone in on more than our pretty pictures. OK, back to the sheep.

x

2 comments

  1. Glad u r getting settled. Can’t believe its been a month. Indy and I are packed and ready to visit. He is enjoying his pool time but the crazy man with the uga shirt is no Andy. Get settled soon so we can come visit

  2. Hang in there! I know this is totally different, but I hated Atlanta for a year and it took two years for it to feel like home. I never told anyone that at the time because I didn’t want my family and friends back home to worry. This is an incredible experience for you guys that you will have stories about forever! I’m so jealous of your life πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

