Visa Education 101

I’m a born planner with a touch of a control problem. (If you know me, insert surprise face here.) The UK visa process has taught me in truth that patience is a virtue.

Given our circumstance the visa process did not allow us to simply go online at the UK.gov and check the status of documents. Trust me, I had big plans to really show the government how to streamline the process- bah. We were thrown in visa purgatory for weeks.

My daily conversations with friends and family have gone like this:
What’s new? Any update? Departure date? You’re still here?

Groundhogs day.

Per the website: We strongly advise applicants not to confirm their travel arrangements to come to the UK until they have received their visa.

It’s been frustrating simply due to the fact that the approval process was out of our control and we could not book travel until our passports and visa were in hand. Oh, the agony. My attempts to squeeze an answer out of anyone only resulted in a vague timeline of more “maybe” dates.

In short, the tiny window for approval comes once a month and from there papers are rushed through the British Consulate and other important offices. We knew things were going well — and that was about all we knew.

Today, we finally received word that our visas would be in our grubby little hands tomorrow! Nothing like a booking a last, last minute flight.

This is the deep breath before the plunge. Although we’ve been ready for weeks, it’s sinking in that this is about to get real. My last minute oh-crap-things-i-forgot list is a good one but it’s time to wrap it up.

Cheers for now!

5 comments

  1. I’m so excited for y’all! Please keep blogging so I can live vicariously through you until B and I make our move next spring! Safe travels! xoxo

  2. Gah, I’m having a hard time with a possible move/transfer and it’s within the COUNTRY. I cannot even imagine how this process can throw you through many loops. You’re still sane – job well done! πŸ™‚

    Have a safe trip!! Can’t wait to hear from you ACROSS THE POND. Whoop!

  3. Good luck!!! πŸ™‚ I had similar problems when I was waiting for my work visa to France. It took FOREVER to actually get and I left last minute. But it was so worth it πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

