Immersing Myself in British Culture

Those that can’t move…watch a great deal of BBC.

I’ve been brushing up on understanding a heavy British accent and more importantly the humour humor. Some of me faves:

Top Gear: The hosts alone are enough to keep you entertained, and if you happen to know anything or perhaps nothing about cars. This show has been on 17 successful seasons with no signs of slowing down.
The Graham Norton Show: Forget what you know about late night talk show hosts. Cheeky humor and all the guests come out at one time.
The Tudors: This is my site so this show counts as being UK-ish. Showtime’s historical-dramady brings to life Henry VIII and all of his slores wives. There are important historical milestones sprinkled in as well. What a man will do for a woman.
Keeping Up Appearances: This has nothing to do with Keeping up with the Kardashians I assure you. This little hidden nugget still airs on Georgia Public Television. Nanny introduced me to this show when I had a slumber party a few weeks back. The leading star is named Hyacinth, need I say more.

Apologies to anyone looking for a Hell’s Kitchen or Master Chef reference. I am still not a fan of Gordon Ramsey’s shows.

If there are any I’m missing, like The Inbetweeners, let me know.

3 comments

  1. Keeping Up Appearances is SO good – I have not watched in years but now I will be looking for it… also!! Are You Being Served. another great one!!

    we love the British Top Gear but not the new American version… and I am PROUD to say I’ve never watched The Kardashians.

  2. Don’t forget the original Office. There’s also an older sketch comedy show, A Bit of Fry and Laurie (available on Netflix streaming) which stars Hugh Laurie, a man who’d later go on to pretend to be an American doctor without the amazing British accent. The humor in both is very dry, but I suspect you might want to get use to that sort of thing.

  3. Soooo many amazing shows: Spaced, The Trip, Alan Partridge, Peep Show, Green Wing…. I could go on! It’s definitely a different type of comedy, but with your dry sense of humor, you’ll get it πŸ™‚

    Inbetweeners is great too, but no one here watches/watched Keeping Up Appearances #justsoyouknow

    PS I know I’ve been commenting on EVERY SINGLE POST, but it’s very exciting to be able to share this stuff with you!


Leave a Reply

